MDOT rail director receives President's Transportation Award

LANSING—Leadership, innovation and creativity helped Michigan's Department of Transportation earn national recognition from the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials.

Tim HoffnerOffice of Rail Director Timothy Hoeffner was awarded the President's Transportation Award for his management skills and effective use of tax money as well as his commitment to improving environmental conditions and efficiency by using technology.

Hoeffner was appointed director Jan. 30, 2012 and manages the Freight Safety and Services Division, the Rail Passenger Services Division and administrates the Intermodal Policy Division.

The Office of Rail is responsible for rail-related programs at MDOT, including rail economic development and passenger operations.

"Leading the selection process is one of the most difficult and rewarding tasks assigned to AASHTO's President each year," said AASHTO President Kirk Steudle. "These honorees represent just a small fraction of the many talented and dedicated individuals, projects, and programs making travel safer, faster, and less costly, across America."

Recipients of the Award were selected by AASHTO President Kirk Steudle and the Presidents of regional associations of state highway and transportation officials.

Other recipient states include Washington, South Carolina, Maryland, Indiana, Illinois, Nevada, North Carolina, Hawaii, Kansas, New York.

Leave a reply